Parental Support

Happy to receive this news from the parent.

This boy came to me barely 3 months ago, and his Maths at that time was not in a situation of being a clear-cut pass.

While the grades indicated that he has improved substantially, more so given the increase in contents to be tested, I am thankful that the elements were in place for him to move forward. For instance, this child had often made it a point to do his work, without any clear rejection. While he was not strong in Maths evidently, he was willing to try and put in effort to do so. In fact, I was very pleased with the feedback from his mother that this child was able to auto-pilot his Maths work which he committed to me (I don’t adopt iron-fist approach and assign work) at home.

However, perhaps the greatest difference was that his parents had given me their fullest support. At the end of every session, no matter how tied up this parent would be, she would always ensure that time is made available to tune in to the feedback I provided. This parent also displayed total trust and was fully committed to a partnership approach in working with me. Such was the willingness to work that we are often in contact a few times each week, to keep me updated on the child’s progress at home, and strategising the next lesson’s plan.

Together with the Primary 6 boy’s family which I shared in early October, this family has consolidated my firm beliefs that in education, parental support is paramount. I am thankful to have the chance to work with these two families and their children.

Leave a comment