PM for book recommendations

Some of my tutor counterparts in the FB groups, and some parents in the same platform, have voiced concern over my reluctance to not reveal publicly the books that I recommend.

I believed I have mentioned this before, but I will nonetheless write again, with some added points.

There is a certain set of books that I often use, for the past 19 years. For parents and tutors who often drop by bookshops, you would probably realise that there is a range of books so wide that it’s not possible to have a informed choice on which to buy, even if you spend half a day reviewing.

That said, I do not feel it is fair to the authors of the books, if I pick up one for recommendation. Neither should I be attempting to be a spokesman for a particular publisher or author.

Another point which I want to add on is that, for one particular Facebook group which has more than 9000 members, it has a lot of tutors who more often than not, try to discredit others who are in the same trade. As I do not own that communication platform, I avoid voicing out my views too much. Recommendation of books is pretty subjective (though I do have quite a bit of success using these books), hence I don’t do so publicly.

For those who are keen to know, feel free to contact me.

Leave a comment